Skip to content

May 16, 2016

Volunteer Spotlight: Jay Boodheshwar

by PBUnitedWay

Our monthly Volunteer Spotlight recognizes Town of Palm Beach United Way volunteers who are passionate, inspiring and dedicated. They are individuals committed to transforming lives and who invest in our vision of building healthy and strong communities.

Jay Boodheshwar has been a volunteer at the Town of Palm Beach United Way for 9 years.  He serves on our Allocation Committee as a Co-Chairman of Allocations and is the newest Chairman of our Board of Trustees.  We sat down with him to ask him a few questions about volunteering at the Town of Palm Beach United Way and what it means to him.

What made you choose to volunteer with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
There are a number of reasons that have compelled me to volunteer and give back to nonprofit organizations.  Growing up poor gave me a clear understanding of why organizations like United Way and its partner agencies are so important to communities across America.  Without the support of these agencies when our family needed them most, I may not have ended up in a position where I can now give back and that is why I have such a sense of responsibility to serve.  I chose the Town of Palm Beach United Way as my primary agency of choice because of its outstanding reputation as a professionally managed organization, supported by hundreds of dedicated and caring members of the community.  These are the people I love being around.  The sincerity, compassion, and kindness shown by our volunteers to the thousands of clients served by our partner agencies and the stewardship they demonstrate for allocations of donor dollars is most impressive.

What do you like most about volunteering with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
I love everything that United Way stands for and the many programs we find throughout the county.  Seeing first-hand the positive impact we make on the lives of very real people in our community is very rewarding.  I also enjoy working side by side with our volunteers, board members and staff, while getting to know who they are as human beings.

What have you learned by being a volunteer with us?
I’ve learned how great the need really is in Palm Beach County and despite the efforts of hundreds of nonprofits, many needs are still unmet.  Thanks to the extreme generosity of our donors, our partner agencies are overcoming major obstacles to make a big and lasting impact to so many in need.

What do you do when you’re not volunteering?
Most of my time is spent serving the Town of Palm Beach as the Deputy Town Manager.  My service to the community takes up much of my time but it doesn’t feel like work when you love what you’re doing!  When I’m not at work, I’m usually spending time with my family, golfing, fishing, or watching hours and hours of Netflix or YouTube.

What is your most memorable volunteer moment?
Every agency visit I’ve ever made has left lasting memories, but being selected as chairman of the board at the 2016 Annual Meeting, to follow in the footsteps of the exceptional service of Michele Kessler, is a memory I will forever cherish.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

