Skip to content

June 13, 2016

Volunteer Spotlight: Bridget Moran

by PBUnitedWay
united way allocation committee

Our monthly Volunteer Spotlight recognizes Town of Palm Beach United Way volunteers who are passionate, inspiring and dedicated. They are individuals committed to transforming lives and who invest in our vision of building healthy and strong communities.

Bridget Moran has been a volunteer at the Town of Palm Beach United Way for 8 years. She has served on our Allocation and Red Feather committees and is a Board Member. We sat down with Bridget to ask her a few questions about volunteering at the Town of Palm Beach United Way and what it means to her.

What made you choose to volunteer with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
I caught the volunteer bug at Rosarian Academy where I volunteered for many years. As our children aged out and entered high school, I began looking to see what volunteer opportunities were out there. I was immediately attracted to United Way because it is community based. I felt that they were an organization that I could be involved with for the long run, not just a few years.

What do you like most about volunteering with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
It would be difficult to say what I like most about volunteering at Town of Palm Beach United Way. I love being involved in an organization that makes a meaningful and measurable impact. They really do “move the needle.” I love the people I get to meet and work with; they are a really special group. Oh, and, of course the parties and get togethers.

What have you learned by being a volunteer with us?
I’ve learned tons through Town of Palm Beach United Way. About our community I’ve learned that while it can be great, it’s not paradise for everyone.  About myself I’ve learned I am capable of more than I thought.

What is your most memorable volunteer moment?
When my friend Clive told me to stop prefacing my speeches with an apology about my lack of skill. His encouragement gave me more self-confidence and reminded me not to dwell on our faults, no one’s perfect.

 

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

