Skip to content

April 17, 2017

Volunteer Spotlight: Jessica Surovek

by PBUnitedWay

Our monthly Volunteer Spotlight recognizes Town of Palm Beach United Way volunteers who are passionate, inspiring and dedicated. They are individuals committed to transforming lives and who invest in our vision of building healthy and strong communities.

Jessica Surovek has been a volunteer at the Town of Palm Beach United Way for 11 years. Jessica serves on our Allocation Committee and our Board of Trustees. We sat down with Jessica to ask her a few questions about volunteering at the Town of Palm Beach United Way and what it means to her.

What made you choose to volunteer with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?

In 2006 my mother in law, Lynn Surovek (whom had been part of the Town of PBUW for 10+ years at the time) put my name in the hat for allocations and I was hooked!

What do you like most about volunteering with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
I love being a part of the allocations committee-I believe the process transcends every volunteer experience I’ve had.

What have you learned by being a volunteer with us?
I feel that through Allocations I’ve learned a new language. Each year I become more proficient at evaluating partner agencies, their program applications, requests and outcomes. I also love that the committee is so dynamic and diverse; each member brings a unique background and perspective to the table!


What do you do when you’re not volunteering with us?
Besides trying to keep up with our three kids’ schedules, currently, I’m back in Grad school working toward licensure as a Mental Health Counselor. Come to think of it, on especially chaotic days, I can blame my volunteer experience at the Town of PBUW for the inspiration!

What is your most memorable volunteer moment?
I laugh at the image that comes to mind when I think of the Islanders first annual Turkey Trot! Cara has always been a fearless leader. There were teenagers on the corners directing traffic, and runners making their own paths! It was a lot of fun, and I’m so proud of the growth and success since then!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

