Skip to content

July 17, 2017

Volunteer Spotlight: Tom Bradford

by PBUnitedWay

Our monthly Volunteer Spotlight recognizes Town of Palm Beach United Way volunteers who are passionate, inspiring and dedicated. They are individuals committed to transforming lives and who invest in our vision of building healthy and strong communities.

Tom Bradford has been a volunteer at the Town of Palm Beach United Way for 3 years.  Tom serves on our Business and Professional Committee. We sat down with Tom to ask him a few questions about volunteering at the Town of Palm Beach United Way and what it means to him.

What made you choose to volunteer with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
I had realized for some time that I was making charitable contributions in my home town that were greater than the time or money I was providing where I live and work today and I did not feel right about it. And then one day Michele Kessler called and asked if I would chair the Business and Professional Committee and I said I would. When I did, and thereafter made my first annual financial contribution, my problem was solved.

What do you like most about volunteering with the Town of Palm Beach United Way?
Getting to know the people involved and knowing that what we do is making a difference in the lives of deserving people.

What have you learned by being a volunteer with us?

That there is a tremendous need in Palm Beach County for a helping hand from those of us who are fortunate to be able to help our fellow man.

What do you do when you’re not volunteering?
Well, I work long hours, but when not working I love to listen to jazz, look for interesting things to photograph, reading and tending a garden.

What is your most memorable volunteer moment?
I enjoyed participating in the annual Business and Professional Breakfast hosted by The Breakers, but my most memorable moment was when Jay Boodheshwar told his story of his family’s quest for upward mobility when coming to this country and how a little help from agencies like United Way made the difference between success or failure in achieving the American Dream. Plus, I got to meet his loving parents who came down from Cleveland for his installation as Chairman.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

